Manipal Tigers add Daren Sammy and Imran Tahir to squad for Legends League Cricket

The two-time T20 World Cup-winning West Indies captain Daren Sammy and South African legspinner Imran Tahir will play in the Legends League Cricket after the Manipal Education and Medical Group (MEMG) owned Manipal Tigers on Monday signed the two stalwarts.

Manipal Tigers also added the New Zealand batting all-rounder Corey Anderson to their lineup for the Legends League Cricket, which is scheduled to begin on September 16. Helmed by Indian spin wizard Harbhajan Singh, the Manipal Tigers have spent the most amount on buying players. Among the four franchises, the Tigers have spent Rs 6,91,20,000 and have a remaining purse of Rs 1,08,80,000 left to add more names of their choice.

“The team had already picked 13 stalwarts earlier from the draft and with the money left, they wanted to pick some more names to be part of their team; they wanted players who are effective T20 players and one could not have shortlisted better names. All the three cricketers have extensively played T20 cricket for their respective countries and have match winning contributions for various other current T20 League across the world,” said Raman Raheja, CEO and Co-Founder of Legends League Cricket.

Manipal Tigers have already picked top cricketing legends, Brett Lee and Muttiah Muralidharan, along with former South Africa all-rounder Lance Klusener. The franchise also has Sri Lanka wicket-keeper Romesh Kaluwitherana, who played a crucial role in helping the island nation win the 1996 World Cup with his famous tsunami-style batting display.

The Tigers have also onboarded the World Cup-winning Australian coach John Buchanan and former India selector Sarandeep Singh to be part of the coaching staff. Both the former cricketers were part of the draft process as well.

Manipal Tigers squad:

Harbhajan Singh (c), Brett Lee, Andrew Flintoff, VRV Singh, Parvinder Awana, Reetinder Sodhi, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Lance Klusener, Ryan Sidebottom, Mohammad Kaif, Phil Mustard, Muttiah Muralitharan, Daren Sammy, Imran Tahir, Corey Anderson.

— ENDS —

Source link